Author Archives: Daniel Oropeza

Imagenes Recordings History / Sunshine EP (John Morales M+M Rework) – Los Charly’s Orchestra

NYC Disco / Boogie pioneer: John Morales (M+M Mix) meets the terrific London outfit: Los Charly’s Orchestra for one of the most exiting editions of reworks they’ve done to date. (With LCO celebrating 10 years of trajectory this year!)

Mr Morales gives his “Boogie Wonderland” treatment to the classic LCO tracks: “History & Sunshine”, delivering 6 different mixes, carefully crafted to open up in the big sound system with the sonic ease and grace that characterized his work since back in the original days of the Paradise Garage and Studio 54 up to today.

Featuring U.K. Singers: Andre Espeut & Omar, this release is “real talk” for those who know their Soulful / Boogie gems, whilst still the perfect cue for those who just wanna get to know the synergy of the groove music.

It’s So / History EP – Los Charly’s Orchestra Feat. Omar – Release: 16th June

Good news! music lovers, record diggers & Soul searchers!

Los Charly’s Orchestra are back!!! this time celebrating their 10th anniversary and featuring the tropical Soul legend: Omar, for their latest extravaganza of Caribbean infused Disco/Boogie.

LCO has left an important landmark on the global Soulful Disco – Jazz Funk landscape since the very beginning, and their tireless production machine still continues today to deliver some of the most epic groovers, such as: All Around The World, Everlasting Love & Sunshine, in between many others.

Juan Laya & Jorge Montiel (the two men behind this project), continue on their endless effort for producing enduring music by delivering their latest EP which contains an LCO’s Re-make treatment of Omar’s classic: It’s So plus a brand new Boogie-Reggaeish fusion track entitled: History, both tracks with their correspondent instrumentals plus a bonus club mix on the digital package for the delight of the groove music aficionado.


Vocals: Omar Lye-Fook

Keys: Xantone Blacq

Bass: Mateus Nova

Guitar: Raphael Delphino

Drums: Juan Laya

Horns: John Allen

Strings: Ben Brown

Percussion: Alejandro Martinez

Produced by Juan Laya & Jorge Montiel

Vincent Sebastian – Satori EP – Out 10th March

“Afro-Latin Roots meets Electronica”

This EP combines the traditional percussive sounds of Latin America with modern electronica to produce a unique sound that incorporates amazing live musicianship with dynamic programming. Featuring a mixture of club and downtempo tracks, this EP shows the breadth of the artist that draws from the deep oral traditions of Afro-Latin folkloric drumming and presents it in a unique contemporary format that never deviates far from the deep spiritual connections of his ancestral roots. It is the merging of the old and new world.
Vincent Sebastian is a percussionist and music creator that has spent his whole life studying and performing the music of his Latin American heritage, while simultaneously, fulfilling an infatuated love of electronic drum machines, modular synthesisers, and analog instruments.

Produced by Vincent Sebastian
Musicians: Daniel Pliner, Godriguez , Adm Ventoura, Pat Torres Micheal Rivett, Vincent Sebastian.
Mixed by Vincent Sebastian
Mastered by Tim Boyce @ The Sound Design, NYC.
Artwork by April 77

Funky Magnetic EP – Juan Laya & Jorge Montiel Feat Andre Espeut (Release 10th Feb)

Juan Laya & Jorge Montiel get together once again with Neo Soul singer / songwriter: Andre Espeut in order to deliver their latest musical venture: FUNKY MAGNETIC.

This lot don’t really need much introduction as they have been releasing some serious groovers for a few years now, so people already know that when they get together in the studio the result is something quite unique.

Free At Last- Juan Laya & Jorge Montiel (Deep Disco Rework) Release 28th Oct

The profits made from song will be donated to the charity organization GREEN PEACE as a little contribution of peace & equality cortesy of LCO, Imagenes Recordings & Mr Martin Luther King.

“Free At Last” (I Have a Dream)2016 – Martin Luther King – Rework By Juan Laya & Jorge Montiel (Aka Los Charly’s Orchestra).

(Speech and door blast effect taken from the original “Free At Last” anthem, produced by Simon Pearson in the year 2000).

Los Charly’s Orchestra Feat. Andre Espeut – Sunshine EP (Out 03 Jun 16)

London 2016, the rebirth of underground Soulful Disco keeps unfolding with more power than ever before, and Los Charly’s Orchestra stay firm and loyal to their authenticity after almost a decade its beginning.

LCO gets together with old friend, lead singer, vocal arranger Andre Espeut in order to produce their latest Soulful-Disco conveyor which is due to drop on the online shops as well as record stores under the name of “Sunshine” beginning of June.

Following the Earth Wind & Fire vibe from LCO’s previous single: “All Around The World” and also paying tribute to Disco/Soul legend: Maurice White who unfortunately joined the list of “departed music legends” quite recently, here it comes this brand new release.

Containing three versions: Vocal, Instrumental, plus a “Deep Disco Rework” locking us into a kinda “Donald Byrd meets The Detroit Experiment / Blaxplotation / Metro Area” fusion, which is even difficult to categorize but quite interesting to listen at!


Vocals: Andre Espeut
Keys: Milt Mavrakakis
Guitar: Raphael Dephino
Bass: Matheus Nova
Drums: Juan Laya
Percussion: Alejandro Martinez
Strings: Mr Martin Smith
Horns: Eikel Venegas
Production: Juan Laya & Jorge Montiel

Martin Denev – Bring That Summer Back (From Manga Electrika EP) – Opolopo Remixes (Out 18-03-16)

Manga Electrika is the newest outfit of Bulgarian-born, Bali-based keyboardist, DJ and producer Martin Denev.

After the glam space funk of his previous project Audio Flirt, also released on Imagenes Recordings, here Martin delivers a solid blend of disco, boogie and house full of sparkling, sumptuous synths. Backed up by the powerful soulful vocals of Bertha and the sensual husky flow of Özlem Esen, Martin moves slickly in the realm of original production, throwing in some toasty analogue Moogs and ’80 synthesizers, spiced up by jazz-funk chord progressions.

With two remixes by some of the masters in the genre – Pete Herbert’s dancefloor friendly take on “Don Believe (Everything You Think)” and the signature future boogie bounce of Opolopo on “Bring That Summer Back”, Manga Electrika Vol.1 is a serious contender for some proper feel good times extravaganza!

Track 1 Don’t Believe (Everything You Say) Original Version
Track 2 Bring That Summer Back Original Version
Track 3 Bakabon
Track 4 Don’t Believe (Everything You Say) Pete Herbert Remix
Track 5 Bring That Summer Back (Opolopo Remix)